My Mother’s Pearls

Hello everyone! I hope you had a great weekend.  We are still excited about Spring and good weather around here, although, we had mostly clouds this weekend.  At least it was warm enough to keep from wearing a jacket. We celebrated two of my sweet sister-in-laws birthdays and my own… AND we had enough rain this evening to also keep me from watering my plants.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my plants!  But if they can get rain water, all the better!

Full time job and trying to plant veggies and flowers while it’s still early-ish Spring has kept me busy.  So, I hadn’t been able to take good, clear pictures of the cards I’ve worked on early enough in the day and I am late on posting.  However, I am still working on Mother’s Day cards and loving it!  I have several to show the next several days.

Here’s the first of several to come.20160418-DSC_6873-8

So, I got a Sizzix Thinklits die by Rachael Bright (#660388) at Hobby Lobby that reminds me of a lattice or flower trellis.  I used it with solid white card stock and added roses from Papertrey Ink (The Sweet Life – three layer stamps) and one of the Happy Mother’s Day sentiments from them, as well.  I also used another Sizzix Sizzlits of branch with leaves (#656367) made out of clear vellum.  It softens up the design a bit.  And lastly, I added three pearls to the top of the sentiment.  This reminds me of the pearls that Mom got for me when I turned fifteen.  I was born in Mexico, so,  we celebrate the fifteenth birthday instead of sixteenth as a right of passage.  🙂20160418-DSC_6875-1

I am using the same patterned paper that I used for my previous project.  I’m still making an effort to use more of it.  Hopefully next time I will at least show a different pattern.  Ha!

I don’t know about you, but I love opening a card and seeing how the design continues on to the inside.  Especially on a handmade card.  So, I’ve been trying to do better at this.  It takes a little extra time but I think it’s worth it. Below, you can see I stamped one of the roses on the bottom, right hand corner of the inside of my card.20160418-DSC_6868-6

And here you can see the front of the card, the inside and the front of the envelope.  I just wanted it to all tie together. 20160418-DSC_6866-5

This is one of my favorite cards for Mother’s Day so far.  I think it shows by how many pictures I just posted.  🙂 I hope the sweet woman that receives this card knows how much I love and respect her.

Well, that’s it for today.  Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you were inspired! Stay tuned for more Mother’s Day cards to come.

Much Love,

~Rox

Leave a Reply

